Aside

Saying Yes To God

How many times have I started something, only to quit half way through? Countless!!  I always think it’s going to be exciting to try something new whether it’s a project like painting my cupboards (I got as far as buying sand paper to sand them) or becoming a consultant for a scrapbooking company- lasted maybe six months and when I decided I “can’t” anymore.

When I finally listened to the video from Sunday, it was exactly what I needed to jumpstart me again.  This is my first Online Bible Study and I was really looked forward to it because I need to hear God’s words daily.  I can’t participate in any of the conference calls (I would have loved to hear Mendesa and win a CD) due to work, but I wanted to be able to ‘share’ with other women who want to say YES to God.

The first week went well.  I think Lysa is awesome and the way she writes it feels she could be my best friend.  I loved the story of her giving her Bible to the man in the seat next to her on the plane.  I really don’t know if I could do that.  I would be worried the person would think I was crazy to just offer it to them. And there are my notes through out my Bible that only make sense to me.  Just this week I wrote ‘envelope’ by  John 14:20.

Anyone would think I was crazy if they read that. But…. Isn’t that the whole point of this study? We say YES to God no matter if people think we’re crazy. We don’t have to worry about what people think or say about us. It’s not their opinions that matter.  I need to change my way of thinking. I need to say YES to God and put those thought behind me.

Right after I ordered my book for this study, I had a chance to say YES to God.   I have a wonderful small church where we have worshiped for 23 years.  It is the perfect sized church to raise a high functioning autistic child. Chris is not overwhelmed there. The entire congregation has walked with us through our journey and have held us up.  We may not be big, but our church is full of God’s goodness and love.  We have both a men’s and women’s Bible study.  I have attended the women’s Bible study and have grown as a Christian.  Several different women lead Bibles, each for one study at a time.  I have never thought about leading or even thought I could do it.  If asked, I would have said ‘I can’t.’  Now God was asking me to lead a Bible study.  #Saywhat?  The peace that filled my soul was overwhelming.  Not only did I know I could do it, I wanted to!  God had pressed upon my heart to read Mark Hall’s The Well- Why are So Many Still Thirsty?. What an awesome book!  If you haven’t read it, read it!  You will not be sorry.  I will be leading a Bible study using his book and I can’t tell you how excited I am. Oh yes, I have butterflies when I think about leading it, but I know this is what God wants for me. Notice I said ‘for me’?  I believe he is using this for me to grow. I have wanted to step out in faith and share my love of God with others but I wasn’t quite sure how to do it. Now I do.

Saying yes to God is not easy, but I believe it will all be worth it!

Leave a comment